Park Jung Min's Press Conference

Photo Courtesy of Sony Music Singapore


Park Jung Min’s Press Conference was held in the presence of various media, as well as 100 excited fans, in the Millennia 9 Ballroom at The Ritz-Carlton.

Park Jung Min was dressed simply in black jeans, a simple white shirt with a black blazer, and of course, a dazzling smile for his fans. Park Jung Min entered amidst generous applause from his audience, and a few suppressed screams from his loyal fans.

The press conference kick started off with a short introduction from Park Jung Min in English, Korean as well as Chinese, followed by a short photo taking session for the media parties. Park Jung Min proceeded to settle down comfortably in an armchair along with the host, Liyi from 93.3FM, and the Korean translator.

Park Jung Min's Press Conference

Photo Courtesy of Sony Music Singapore

Here to promote his solo album “Not Alone”, the singer was more than happy to answer the various questions that the media had prepared for him.

Q: How do you feel towards your fans?
A: This is my first time in Singapore, and my first time seeing the fans, I feel that this country is very warm, and I feel very welcomed.

Park Jung Min even proceeded to add-on a few words of Chinese, saying that the fans are very 热情 (Passionate).

Q: What are your plans for your Asia activities?
A:
With the new album release, I plan to first focus on my album promotional activities. There are also plans for me to act in a Taiwanese drama.

Park Jung Min's Press Conference

Photo Courtesy of Sony Music Singapore

Q: We heard that you composed a song or two in your new album. Do share more about your songwriting as well as compositions.
A:
Before my album release, I was considering which would be the best way to show myself through the album, to my fans. I feel that by writing songs, I can share my feelings and inspirations with my fans.

Q: The dance moves in your latest music video, “Not Alone”, has captivated the attention of many people, and has also reminded many of your musical. Would you like to tell us what was the inspiration behind those dance moves?
A:
It is not wrong that those moves would remind people of my musical, because some of the choreography was taken from the musical. In fact, some of my back up dancers are from the musical as well. I appreciate it that people think the dance steps are cool.

Q: Did you have any input for your imaging in your Music Video?
A
: There was not much input for me regarding the imaging for my music video, because there are a lot of professionals helping me. However, I did contribute ideas for my music video.

Park Jung Min's Press Conference

Photo Courtesy of Sony Music Singapore

The fans cheered upon hearing that he had input for his music video, and Park Jung Min raised his hands shyly and showed off his Chinese skills again, by saying “不是,不是,哪里,哪里!” (It’s nothing, it’s nothing!)

Q: How do you feel doing your promotional activities alone?
A:
I am slowly adapting well to promoting alone, although it is my first time going solo, and not as a group.

Q: We heard that you lost a lot of weight, around 12kg? And we also heard that you suffered from insomnia, how are you coping right now?
A: Actually, it is not really 12kg, because I weighed myself this morning and unfortunately I gained some weight, so I actually lost only 10kg. It’s true that I have not been sleeping well, it has become a rather unfortunate habit, but I am still trying my best to sleep well so as to show the best side of myself to everyone.

Q: Your birthday is coming up, so what is your birthday wish for 2011?
A
: My first wish is that I will be able to have a successful album promotional tour, and my second wish is to achieve everything that I have set out for in 2011.

Q: Have there been any interesting happenings while you have been learning Chinese?
A:
There have not been any particularly interesting happenings, but some difficulties that I faced is the pronunciation of the Chinese words, as well as the 4 tones of the Chinese language. I faced quite a lot of difficulty at that part. Some Chinese words tend to be enunciated quite forcefully, so whenever someone talks to me in Chinese that I do not understand, I feel quite intimidated.

Park Jung Min's Press Conference

Photo Courtesy of Sony Music Singapore

Park Jung Min even happily pointed out his Chinese teacher, who was watching over him at the side of the press conference ballroom. “我的老师!” (My teacher!) Park Jung Min was more than happy to introduce her to the audience.

Q: What other countries do you plan to visit for your promotional activities?
A:
I plan to not only visit those countries that have my fans, but also those countries that have less or no fans. I feel that it is very important to promote there as well. I also want to visit fans that tweet to me!

Q: Are there any artistes that you would like to work with?
A:
I have sung a song by this Taiwanese songwriter, 韋禮安 (Wei Li An), called 有没有. There are certainly plans to work with him, because I have requested him to write a song for me.

Q: What are your views regarding Japan’s situation? Are there any plans to help?
A:
Yes, there are plans undergoing right now, but none have been executed yet. We are still in the process of considering how we can best help the victims. I want to help also because there are a lot of fans in Japan, and I want to give back to them.

Q: What is your inspiration behind songwriting?
A:
Actually, I just hear the melody, and start imagining the lyrics of the song.

Park Jung Min's Press Conference

Photo Courtesy of Sony Music Singapore

Q: How do you think you’ve changed since your solo debut?
A:
I am happy that since my solo debut, I have been able to show more about myself to the fans. I have learnt more about self-development, and I would really like to thank the fans for their continuous support.

Q: We heard that you have this talent of rolling your toes, and even hopping and skipping around on them. Could you tell us more about that? Are there any other talents that you have?
A
: I thought everyone could do it! And I will keep looking for more talents that I have.

Q: What is the next language that you hope to pick up?
A:
For now, I consider myself fluent in Korean and Japanese, my Chinese and English is still lacking, so I would like to brush up on that first. Following that, maybe I would try French and Spanish.

Q: You have been portrayed as a sexy charismatic personality before, so what do you think is your biggest appeal now?
A:
For now, as a solo artist, I would like to portray myself a warm-hearted guy.

Q: What is your most “woohoo” moment since your debut?
A: The first “woohoo” moment was when SS501 first debuted, as also our first fanmeeting. The second “woohoo” moment was when I did my first performance of my solo song.

Q: If you liked a girl, how would you confess to her? By a song? By a dance? Do tell us more!
A: If I liked the girl, I would go up to her to talk, and share my feelings with her, because I am a warm-hearted guy.

Park Jung Min's Press Conference

Photo Courtesy of Sony Music Singapore

Those questions marked the end of the press conference, and Park Jung Min flashed his bright smile for a final few photos, before bowing, and exiting the press conference happily while waving at the over excited fans.

With his autograph session and fan meet party lined up over the next two days, Park Jung Min will definitely not be alone in Singapore.

Park Jung Min’s Not Alone Fan Meet Party was proudly brought to you by Sony Music Singapore and The Ritz-Carlton as the Press Conference venue.

